Dr. Cain Named AACOM President/CEO

Robert A. Cain, DO, FACOI Named AACOM President and CEO

Ther American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) announced this month that ACOI member Robert A. Cain, DO, FACOI, will become its next president and CEO. Dr. Cain currently serves as the Associate Dean for Clinical Education at the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (OU-HCOM), Dr. Cain, who serves on the ACOI Board of Directors, was selected after an extensive, six-month nationwide search.

“Dr. Cain lives and breathes osteopathic medicine,” said Lori A. Kemper, DO, Dean of the Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University (AZCOM) and Chair of the AACOM Board of Deans. “With extensive credentials in undergraduate medical education and graduate medical education, the board knew that the right person who could shape the next chapter of AACOM’s history was Dr. Cain. We look forward to working with him as he transitions to one of the most important positions in medical education.”

In addition to his role at Ohio University, Dr. Cain functions as the Chief Academic Officer for the Ohio Centers for Osteopathic Research and Education (CORE), a statewide medical education consortium. Prior to this university appointment, he served as the Director of Medical Education (DME) from 2006 to 2014, and as the Director of the Internal Medicine residency program from 1999 to 2007 at Grandview Hospital in Dayton, OH.

Over the past two decades, Dr. Cain has served on a number of local, state, and national committees, task forces, and boards in a variety of roles, including the ACOI Council on Education and Evaluation and Executive Committee, the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Council on Postdoctoral Training Institutions (COPTI), the AOA Council on Postdoctoral Training (COPT), , the AOA and AACOM Blue Ribbon Commission on Osteopathic Medical Education, and as the First Chair of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Osteopathic Principles Committee. He also served as President of the Association of Osteopathic Directors and Medical Educators (AODME, now known as the AOGME).

Stay True to Why You Pursued Medicine.